Investment

FERROSTAAL

Strategy
Turnaround, Growth

Sector
Industrial Services

Status
Active

Employees
400

In spring 2012, a groundbreaking entrepreneurial task began for us when, together with partners, we were able to take over Ferrostaal AG from MAN AG. This step became necessary due to a strategic realignment of MAN AG, which resulted in the internationally renowned company Ferrostaal being up for sale.

However, the first attempted sale to an Abu Dhabi sovereign wealth fund did not go as expected due to a high-profile compliance proceeding and had to be reversed. Despite these difficult conditions, we saw a unique opportunity for a financially attractive entry. Our challenge was to successfully implement a complex sales process and structure a purchase price in the low three-digit million range.

After the takeover, we were faced with the task of subjecting the company with its several thousand employees and an extensive network of international subsidiaries and affiliates to a comprehensive restructuring. This was necessary to take into account the fundamentally changed framework conditions as a result of the compliance procedure. Banks' confidence in the company had been lost, which meant that bank financing was no longer available. Some business areas were no longer viable, and due to the compliance requirements we had tightened, some important foreign markets could also no longer be safely served.

Nevertheless, it was possible to stabilise the company economically within a few years. This was achieved mainly through strategically sensible disposals of company shares, the formation of joint ventures and a few business closures. Of particular note was the highly successful sale of a significant industrial holding in the Caribbean and the successful sale of a business unit in the automotive sector. These and other transactions made the acquisition of Ferrostaal an extremely profitable investment whose entrepreneurial reorientation and continuation we are still actively supporting today.

Wasserstoff-Tank
Strategically sensible sales of company shares, the formation of joint ventures and a few business closures enabled the company to stabilize economically within a few years.
Portrait Dr. John Benjamin Schroeder
Dr. John Benjamin Schroeder

Managing Partner

„By making sustainable project developments in the industrial sector possible, we will position Ferrostaal as a pioneer of the carbon neutral era. So we are not only shaping the future of the company, but also, within the scope of our possibilities, the future of our planet.“


Other companies

Asset and investment management

MPC Capital

Windrad auf Hügel bei Sonnenuntergang
Industrial Services

Ancora wind farm

Investment

FERROSTAAL

Strategie
Turnaround, Growth

Branche
Industriedienstleistungen

Status
Aktiv

Mitarbeitende
400

Im Frühjahr 2012 begann für uns eine weg­weisende unter­nehmerische Aufgabe, als wir gemein­sam mit Partnern FERROSTAAL von der MAN AG über­nehmen konnten. Dieser Schritt wurde aufgrund einer strate­gischen Neu­ausrichtung der MAN AG notwendig, die dazu führte, dass das inter­national renommierte Unter­nehmen FERROSTAAL zum Verkauf stand.

Allerdings verlief der erste Verkaufs­versuch an einen Staats­fonds aus Abu Dhabi auf­grund eines öffentlich­keits­wirksamen Compliance-Verfahrens nicht wie erwartet und musste rück­abge­wickelt werden. Trotz dieser erschwerten Bedin­gungen sahen wir eine einzig­artige Gelegen­heit für einen finanziell attraktiven Ein­stieg. Unsere Heraus­forderung bestand darin, einen komplexen Verkaufs­prozess erfolg­reich zu realisieren und einen Kauf­preis im niedrigen drei­stelligen Millionen­bereich zu strukturieren.

Nach der Über­nahme standen wir vor der Aufgabe, die Gesell­schaft mit ihren mehreren tausend Mit­arbeitenden und einem weit­verzweigten Netz­werk inter­nationaler Tochter- und Beteiligungs­gesellschaften einer umfassenden Restruktu­rierung zu unterziehen. Dies war erforderlich, um die fundamental veränderten Rahmen­bedingungen infolge des Compliance-Verfahrens zu berück­sichtigen. Das Vertrauen der Banken in das Unter­nehmen war verloren, was dazu führte, dass Bank­finan­zierungen nicht mehr zur Verfügung standen. Einige Geschäfts­bereiche waren nicht mehr zukunfts­fähig, und aufgrund der von uns verschärften Compliance-Anforde­rungen konnten auch einige wichtige Auslands­märkte nicht mehr sicher bedient werden.

Dennoch gelang es inner­halb weniger Jahre, die Gesell­schaft wirt­schaftlich zu stabilisieren. Dies wurde vor allem durch strategisch sinn­volle Veräußerungen von Unternehmens­anteilen, die Bildung von Joint Ventures und einige wenige Geschäfts­schließungen erreicht. Besonders hervor­zuheben sind der äußerst erfolg­reiche Verkauf einer bedeutenden Industrie­beteiligung in der Karibik sowie der erfolg­reiche Verkauf eines Geschäfts­bereichs in der Automobil­branche. Diese und weitere Transaktionen machten die Akquisition der FERROSTAAL zu einem äußerst profitablen Investment dessen unter­nehmerische Neu­ausrichtung und Fort­bestand wir noch heute aktiv begleiten.

Wasserstoff-Tank
Durch strategisch sinnvolle Veräußerungen von Unternehmensanteilen, die Bildung von Joint Ventures und einige wenige Geschäftsschließungen gelang es innerhalb weniger Jahre, die Gesellschaft wirtschaftlich zu stabilisieren.
Portrait Dr. John Benjamin Schroeder
Dr. John Benjamin Schroeder

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

„Indem wir nachhaltige Projektentwicklungen im Industriesektor möglich machen, werden wir FERROSTAAL zu einem Wegbereiter der carbon neutral era aufstellen. Wir gestalten also nicht nur die Zukunft des Unternehmens, sondern im Rahmen unserer Möglichkeiten auch die Zukunft unseres Planeten.“


Weitere Beteiligungen

Investment- und Assetmanagement

MPC Capital

Windrad auf Hügel bei Sonnenuntergang
Industriedienstleistungen

Windpark Ancora